top of page

Chemical Analysis

What determines the quality of olive oil in chemical analysis and what interests us most are:

 

  • The acid (acidity)

 

is an important parameter for assessing the quality of a (native) olive oil. It is the content of free fatty acids in olive oil, produced by the action of the enzyme lipase contained in the fruit. The acidity is given as a percentage.

 

The factors that negatively affect acidity are:

 

  • Overripe or injured olive fruit.

  • Insect infestation (Dacus) of the olive fruit.

  • Longer storage of olives after harvest and until oiling.

 

The lower the acidity, the better the quality of our olive oil and the more bitter and savory its taste will be.

 

  • The number of peroxides (quality of life)

Peroxides are chemical compounds that are formed (oxidation) through contact with oxygen (air).

The number of peroxides therefore gives us an indication of whether the olive oil has been exposed to oxidation. Oxidation can be enzymatic (created during olive oil production, by enzymes present in the olive) or chemical (created during olive oil storage after production).

In the case of refined oils, this parameter gives no indication of anything, since during the refining process any product resulting from oxidation is eliminated, and therefore any characteristic that indicates its age.

The factors that negatively affect the number of peroxides are:

  • Damage to the olive fruit during harvest, storage

  • The contact of olive oil with waste water

  • light (sunbeams)

  • temperature

  • oxygen

  • Traces of metallic elements

  • Κ232 (oxidation)

 

K232 is the initial or intermediate stage of oxidation. An increased K-232 value indicates increased oxidation processes (e.g. too high temperature or too long storage between harvest and pressing). It tells how the production method and the storage conditions of an olive oil were.  

 

 

  •   Κ270 (aging)

 

K270 is an advanced oxidation or refining stage. Oxidation (degradation) occurs over time (i.e. aging). This means that the K-270 value is low for fresh oil and increases with age. A mixture with old oil also results in an increased K-270 value. Poor storage, i.e. under light or at excessively high temperatures, will accelerate aging. So it tells us how fresh an olive oil is. Refined olive oils therefore have a high K270 value.

 

 

  • Delta K ΔΚ (Purity)

 

The delta K value (ΔΚ) is calculated from the difference between the values K-266, K-270 and K-274 and serves as a comparison value. If there is a difference (delta) here, this indicates a mixture with other oils. Ie the value tells us how pure the olive oil is for its quality class.

 

Factors that influence this are:

  • light (sunbeams)

  • temperature

  • oxygen

  • Traces of metallic elements

The values K-232 and K-270 as well as Delta K show how many oxidized components are in the oil and whether the oil is pure or adulterated.

 

 

  • polyphenols

 

Polyphenols are so-called phytochemicals that give plant foods their color. The most important polyphenol in olives is oleuropein. It is a very good antioxidant, making it a powerful scavenger of free radicals, which can wreak havoc in the body. In addition, they serve the plants as defenses against predators or microbial attack and also act as growth regulators.

 

The content of phenolic compounds in olive oil depends on the cultivation and degree of ripeness of the olives at harvest. There are also varietal differences.

 

Polyphenols are therefore a good reason to consume high-quality olive oil. In contrast to vitamins, polyphenols are heat-resistant and remain largely stable, so that high-quality olive oil should also be used for cooking and frying. Good olive oils contain 250 to over 800 mg of polyphenols.

 

 

Table with the limits that determine the extra virgin olive oil:

 

parameter

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Ultra premium olive oil

acidity (%) 

max ≤ 0.8

max ≤ 0.3

Peroxides (meq O₂/Kg) 

max ≤ 20.0

max ≤ 9.0

Κ232

max ≤ 2.5

max ≤ 2.0

Κ270

max ≤ 0.22

max ≤ 0.20

ΔΚ

max ≤ 0.01

max ≤ 0.01

polyphenols

-

min ≤ 130

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Basic principles of tasting

bottom of page

Chemische Analyse

Was in der chemischen Analyse die Qualität von Olivenöl bestimmt und was uns am meisten interessiert, sind:

 

  • Die Säure (Säuregehalt)

 

ist ein wichtiger Parameter zur Qualitätsbeurteilung eines (nativen) Olivenöls. Es ist der Gehalt des Olivenöls an freien Fettsäuren, die durch die Wirkung des in der Frucht enthaltenen Enzyms Lipase entstehen. Der Säuregehalt wird prozentual angegeben.

 

Die Faktoren, die den Säuregehalt negativ beeinflussen, sind:

 

  • Überreife oder verletzte Olivenfrucht.

  • Insektenbefall (Dacus) der Olivenfrucht.

  • Längere Lagerung von Oliven nach der Ernte und bis zum Ölen.

 

Je niedriger der Säuregehalt, desto besser ist die Qualität unseres Olivenöls und desto bitterer und würziger wird sein Geschmack.

 

  • Die Anzahl der Peroxide (Lebensqualität)

Peroxide sind chemische Verbindungen, die durch Kontakt mit Sauerstoff (Luft) entstehen (Oxidation).

Die Anzahl der Peroxide gibt uns deshalb den Hinweis darauf, ob das Olivenöl der Oxidation ausgesetzt war. Die Oxidation kann enzymatisch (während der Olivenölproduktion, durch in der Olive vorhandene Enzyme entstehen) oder chemisch (während der Lagerung von Olivenöl nach der Produktion entstehen) sein.

Bei den raffinierten Ölen gibt dieser Parameter keinen Hinweis auf irgendetwas, da während des Raffinierungsprozesses jedes Produkt, das aus der Oxidation resultiert, eliminiert wird, und daher auch jedes Merkmal, das auf sein Alter hinweist.

Die Faktoren, die die Anzahl der Peroxide negativ beeinflussen, sind:

  • Beschädigung der Olivenfrucht während der Ernte, Lagerung

  • Der Kontakt von Olivenöl mit den Abwasser

  • Licht (Sonnenstrahlen)

  • Temperatur

  • Sauerstoff

  • Spuren von metallischen Elementen

  • Κ232 (Oxidation)

 

K232 ist die Anfangs- oder Zwischenstufe der Oxidation. Ein erhöhter K-232 Wert lässt auf erhöhte Oxidationsprozesse (z.B. zu hohe Temperatur, oder zu lange Lagerung zwischen Ernte und Pressung) deuten. Es sagt aus wie die Herstellungsmethode und die Lagerbedingungen eines Olivenöls waren.  

 

 

  •  Κ270 (Alterung)

 

K270 ist eine fortgeschrittene Oxidations- oder Raffinationsphase. Die Oxidation (der Abbau) entsteht mit der Zeit (also der Alterung). D.h. bei frischen Öl ist der K-270 Wert gering und steigt mit zunehmenden Alter. Auch bei einer Mischung mit altem Öl, ergibt sich ein erhöhter K-270 Wert. Schlechte Lagerung, also unter Licht oder bei zu hohen Temperaturen wird die Alterung beschleunigt. Es zeigt uns also, wie frisch ein Olivenöl ist. Raffinierte Olivenöle haben somit einen hohen K270 Wert.

 

 

  • Delta-K ΔΚ (Reinheit)

 

Der Delta-K-Wert (ΔΚ) wird aus der Differenz zwischen den Werten K-266, K-270 und K-274 berechnet und dient als Vergleichswert. Wenn hier ein Unterschied (Delta) auftritt, weist dies auf eine Mischung mit anderen Ölen hin. D.h. der Wert sagt uns aus wie Rein das Olivenöl für seine Güteklasse ist.

 

Faktoren, die das beeinflussen sind:

  • Licht (Sonnenstrahlen)

  • Temperatur

  • Sauerstoff

  • Spuren von metallischen Elementen

Die Werte K-232 und K-270 sowie Delta K zeigen auf, wie viele Oxidierte Bestandteile im Öl sind und ob das Öl rein bzw. gepanscht ist.

 

 

  • Polyphenole

 

Polyphenole sind sogenannte sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe die den pflanzlichen Lebensmitteln ihre Farbe geben. Das wichtigste Polyphenol in Oliven ist das Oleuropein. Es ist ein sehr gutes Antioxidans und ist damit ein starker Fänger von freien Radikalen, die große Schäden im Körper anrichten können. Zusätzlich dienen Sie den Pflanzen als Abwehrstoffe gegen Fressfeinde oder mikrobiellen Angriff und wirken darüber hinaus als Wachstumsregulatoren.

 

Der Gehalt an phenolischen Verbindungen im Olivenöl hängt vom Anbau und Reifegrad der Oliven bei der Ernte ab. Auch zeigen sich sortenspezifische Unterschiede.

 

Polyphenole sind also ein guter Grund, hochwertiges Olivenöl zu sich zu nehmen. Im Gegensatz zu Vitaminen, sind Polyphenole hitzebeständig und bleiben weitgehend stabil, sodass auch zum Kochen und Braten hochwertiges Olivenöl verwendet werden sollte. Gute Olivenöle enthalten 250 bis über 800 mg Polyphenole.

 

 

Tabelle mit den Grenzwerten, die das Extra native Olivenöl bestimmen:

 

Parameter

Extra natives Olivenöl

Ultra Premium Olivenöl

Säuregehalt (%) 

max. ≤ 0,8

max. ≤ 0,3

Peroxide (meq O₂/Kg) 

max. ≤ 20,0

max. ≤ 9,0

Κ232

max. ≤ 2,5

max. ≤ 2,0

Κ270

max. ≤ 0,22

max. ≤ 0,20

ΔΚ

max. ≤ 0,01

max. ≤ 0,01

Polyphenole

-

min. ≤ 130

Chalkidiki Olivenöl - Chalkidiki Oliven - Chalkidiki Honig